Modernism and Postmodernism

“We do not fear being called meticulous, inclining as we do to the view that only the exhaustive can be truly interesting.” ―Thomas Mann

Modernism Fiction Reader

Modernism Non-Fiction Reader

“‘I read,’ I say. ‘I study and read.’ I bet I’ve read everything you read. Don’t think I haven’t. I consume libraries. I wear out spines and ROM-drives. I do things like get in a taxi and say, ‘The library, and step on it.’ My instincts concerning syntax and mechanics are better than your own, I can tell, with all due respect. But it transcends the mechanics. I’m not a machine. I feel and believe. I have opinions. Some of them are interesting. I could, if you’d let me, talk and talk.'” -David Foster Wallace

Postmodernism Reader

-Please note: This is NOT required reading. This is some supplemental reading that I’ve compiled as a time saver for those of you who are looking for a better handle on modernism and postmodernism.  Unfortunately, these movements are so vast and discursive that the documents linked above do not even compose a basic primer. 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

